The roof is leaking

Day Seventeen

Emily Knight
2 min readJun 29, 2023
Photo by Liam Riby on Unsplash

When the roof is leaking you have two options.

Ignore the problem and allow dampness to become the fertile ground for black mould and decay, or stop everything you’re doing to fix the problem.

In our relationships, time and time again, we opt for option one. But personally, I’ve always felt an urgency to find and fix the leaks.

I hear the first drip before it hits the floorboards. I’m ready to get to work at the smallest sign of moisture.

Maybe it’s because I know the feeling of rot in my lungs from leaks long ignored.

This urgency extends past my own walls. My skin crawls at house parties when I hear contempt dripping off a lover's mouth onto their mate. As if they’ve injected poison into both of our veins.

When I close my eyes, sometimes I think I hear a “drip drip drip”. The worst part?

I know the leak is me.

This piece is Day 17 of my 133 Days of Musing series inspired by Tim Ferriss’s book Tribe of Mentors. To read the introduction to the series and to find the entire collection, go here.

Today I read Esther Perel’s words on page 179.

Taylor Swift’s song “Anti-Hero”, would also pair well with this piece.

--

--

Emily Knight

A lover of all this world has to offer. It's messiness, it's joy, it's suffering, it's kindness. I write about work, creativity, burnout, and human nature.